Wolseley Memorial Collection

Established in memory of Bernice B. Wolesley, the collection contains books written by physicians and health professionals on topics related to medicine and the humanities. The Wolseley Memorial Collection was originally donated to the Library by the Wolseley family. It includes fiction and non-fiction novels, poetry, biographies and patient memoirs about medical care. The library continues to add titles to the collection by contemporary authors such as Oliver Sacks, Atul Gawande, and Rafael Campo.

The Wolseley Memorial Collection is located in the back of the Library first floor, in a lounge area with comfortable seating and a window wall.
Showing 1 to 10 of 837
« Previous :: Next »
book cover
#1 Extreme measures : finding a better path to the end of life / Jessica Nutik Zitter.
Zitter, Jessica Nutik.
Book. xiv, 338 p.
xiv, 338 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
"An ICU and Palliative Care specialist featured in the Netflix documentary Extremis offers a framework for a better way to exit... enlarges the national conversation as it thoughtfully and compassionately examines an experience that defines being human."--

book cover
#2 What I learned in medical school : personal stories of young doctors / edited by Kevin M. Tak...
Book. xxi, 209 p.
Berkeley : University of California Press, ©2004.
xxi, 209 p. : portraits ; 24 cm.
Like many an exclusive club, the medical profession subjects its prospective members to rigorous indoctrination: medical studen...ferent" in medical school. Their tales of courage are by turns poignant, amusing, eye-opening -- and altogether unforgettable.

book cover
#3 Becoming Dr. Q : my journey from migrant farm worker to brain surgeon / Alfredo Quiñones-Hin...
Quiñones-Hinojosa, Alfredo.
Book. 317 p., [24] pages of plates
Berkeley : University of California Press, ©2011.
317 p., [24] pages of plates : ill. ; 24 cm.
Tells the life story of Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa from impoverished childhood in a tiny village in Mexico to illegal immigrant... student at the University of California, on to Harvard Medical School, and becoming an internationally renowned neurosurgeon.

book cover
#4 Gratitude / Oliver Sacks ; [photographs by Bill Hayes].
Sacks, Oliver, 1933-2015, author.
Book. xi, 45 p.
xi, 45 p. : ill., portraits ; 18 cm.
"In July 2013, Oliver Sacks turned eighty and wrote [a] ... piece in The New York Times about the prospect of old age and the f...too-close presence of his own death, and how to live out the months that [remained] in the richest and deepest way possible"--

book cover
#5 When breath becomes air / Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese.
Kalanithi, Paul, author.
Book. xix, 228 p.
xix, 228 p. : ill. ; 20 cm.
"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neur...e brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.^

book cover
#6 Blue collar, blue scrubs : the making of a surgeon / Michael J. Collins, M.D.
Collins, Michael J., M.D.
Book. ix, 291 p.
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2009.
ix, 291 p. ; 24 cm.
Collins turns back the clock, taking readers from his days as a construction worker to his entry into medical school, expertly infusing his journey to become a doctor with humanity, compassion, and humor.

book cover
#7 Black man in a white coat : a doctor's reflections on race and medicine / Damon Tweedy, M.D.
Tweedy, Damon.
Book. 294 p.
294 p. ; 25 cm.
"One doctor's passionate and profound memoir of his experience grappling with race, bias, and the unique health problems of bla...h burdens faced by black patients, ultimately seeking a way forward to better treatment and more compassionate care."--Jacket.

book cover
#8 Service fanatics : how to build superior patient experience the Cleveland Clinic way / James ...
Merlino, James, M.D.
Book. xxvi, 260 p.
New York : McGraw-Hill Education, c2015.
xxvi, 260 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
"Rather than view patients simply as sick people who need treatment, Cleveland Clinic sees them also as important stakeholders ...f customer experience that promises to transform your organization into an industry powerhouse." --Unedited summary from book.

book cover
#9 Chekhov's doctors : a collection of Chekhov's medical tales / edited by Jack Coulehan ; forew...
Chekhov, Anton Pavlovich, 1860-1904.
Book. xxv, 199 p.
Kent, Ohio : Kent State University Press, ©2003.
xxv, 199 p. ; 24 cm.
"The stories in Chekhov's Doctors are powerful portraits of doctors in their everyday lives, struggling with their own personal..., Chekhov's Doctors will serve as a rich text for professional health care educators as well as for general readers."--Jacket.

book cover
#10 Pioneers of neurobiology : my brilliant eccentric heroes / John G. Nicholls.
Nicholls, John G., author.
Book. xii, 148 p.
xii, 148 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 23 cm.


« Previous :: Next »